张树光个展——显像的绽出

厦门

前言

文/李子健

 

树光是个随性的人。不怎么用手机,一直喜欢面对面交流。谈到作品,时而滔滔不绝,时而欲言又止。他总是反复强调一点,即他的作品总是想要呈现那些言语之外不断变化的东西。

 

本次展览展出的作品皆选自他的《见无所见》系列。有别于一般我们对于摄影的理解,在这个系列的创作中,树光记录的是他在街头一系列创作行为的痕迹。在长达六年的时间里,他骑着电动车在他非常熟悉的城市福州走街串巷,不断地观察与感受,然后寻找一些不被在意的城市墙面,将这些直觉的感受描绘出来。他借助一系列材料进行创作,有时从油漆店买来涂料进行涂抹,有时则直接对墙面进行刻画刮除,更多的时候,则是即时即地地使用现场已经存在的环境中的事物,木炭、泥土、苔藓、雨水都可为他所用,成为树光表达自我的媒介。

 

如此一来,我们可以看到这些作品的力量根植于那些正在发生的直觉里,在不断随着空间与时间变化的感受中抓取一瞬,并投射在城市中不起眼的墙面上,在随机地发生和刻意地选择之间,精神世界得以在物质中显像。再借由摄影将其凝固下来,于是那些瞬间的感受力便可在照片的自身的时空中一直重复地发生。

 

这些来自直觉的感受,一直是在语言之外的。树光在交谈中也一直避免直接的描述或回忆作品的创作过程。仿佛这些感受一旦落入语言的意指之网,便变得索然无味了。的确,具象的描述并不适合树光的作品,这些作品呈现的就是那些进入符号象征之前充满可能性的,丰富的碎片,那些树光的精神世界与现实碰撞后迸发出的东西。

 

在海德格尔的哲学中,他使用“绽出(Ekstase)”一词去描述过去、当下和未来是如何统一在我们此刻的生活当中的。我们此刻的存在既是包含了我们对于未来的筹划和已经发生过的曾经。在当下这一刻,当我们基于过往的经验感受面向着未来做出行动和筹划时,时间就于我们当下的存在中绽出了,我们也因此感受到了时间。在树光充满行动力量的作品中,我们也可以看到这一点,过往生活中难以言说的感受与面向未来的创作动机在当下的行动中迸发出来,这些精神的显像在创作的此刻绽出了。

 

树光的作品在提醒着我们,面对着不断变化,生生不息的世界,那些超越语言的直觉和感受是非常重要的。

Zhang Shuguang Solo Exhibition —— Appearance and Ecstasy

Xiamen

Preface

Text/Li Zijian

 

Shuguang is a spontaneous person. He rarely uses cellphone and prefers face-to-face communication. When talking about his works, he sometimes goes on and on, yet sometimes hesitates to speak. He always emphasizes the point that his works attempt to present something that is constantly changing beyond words.

 

All the works in this exhibition were selected from his series "Beyond Reality". In contrast to the common understanding of photography, in this series, Shuguang records the marks of a series of creative works on the street. Over six years, he travels by motorbike through Fuzhou — a city he is familiar with, continuously observing and sensing — then spots some unnoticed surfaces of the city's walls to paint out the feelings he intuited. He works from a range of materials, sometimes painting with oil purchased from painting shops, occasionally scraping straightly onto the walls, and for most time he uses objects in the scene, such as charcoal, soil, moss, and rainwater, as his mean of self-expression.

 

In this way, we see the power of these works embedded in Shuguang’s intuition, capturing a single moment in feelings that are continuously changing in space and time, and reflecting it on the insignificant walls of the city, between improbable occurrences and intentional choices, where the world of the spirit appears in the physical world. By capturing these moments in photography, the transient sensory impact keeps repeating in the time and space within the photos themselves.

 

This intuitive feeling always remains outside of language. Shuguang always avoids directly describing or recalling his process of creating works in the conversation. As if once these feelings fall into the signified network of language, they’d become insipid. Indeed, figurative descriptions do not suit Shuguang's works. Those works present the rich fragments of possibilities prior to the symbolic order, or the residue that produced when Shuguang's spiritual world collides with reality.

 

In Heidegger's philosophy, he refers to the word “ecstasy” to describe how the past, the present and the future unite in the present being of our lives. The present being of us contains both our plans for the future and the past already happened. In the present moment, when we act and plan for the future according to our past experiences, time ecstasies in our present existence, and we also feel time in this way. We see this in Shuguang's works, full of the energy of action, where the inexpressible feeling of past life and motivation of creation for future burst forth in the present moment of action, and these spiritual appearance ecstasies in the moment of creation.

 

Shuguang's works remind us of the importance of intuition and feelings that are beyond language in a constantly changing, dynamic world.