离相:2015年度三影堂摄影奖作品展

创办人寄语

三影堂摄影艺术中心创办人、总监

荣荣&映里

 

中文中的“相"是个有趣的字眼。一则,“相"本是佛教术语,意指能表现于外,由心识观察描写的各种特征;二来,在现代物理学中,“相" 也指系统中物理性质和化学性质完全均一-的部分。 以此观之,“相”既包含了形而上之思,也融合了形而下之意。由摄影得来的图像转化成物质实体,则称为“相片”。传统上来讲,一张“相片"的诞生,不仅有光之物影,也有银盐化学之变,最重要的是,“相"由心生一摄影家观念、 精神之体现。

金刚经中云,“凡所有相,皆是虚妄,若见诸相非相,即见如来。”事物的表象是不可靠的,我们需要辨认物质体的不实在和假象,才有突破的可能,求得大智慧。本届三影堂摄影奖展览取标题为“离相”,寄希望新-代的艺术家们能够破除关于观念精神和材料物质的定式、 成见和束缚,以自由的艺术灵魂创作属于自己也属于这个时代的富有洞见的作品。

与往届相比,本届三影堂摄影奖的入选者的主体年龄已从70后、80后转化至80后、90后,最小的入选者出生于1998年。年龄之变化也反应在这个世代的年轻艺术家的观念表达方式、摄影语言运用、对于所关注主体和题材的转变。不仅如此,本届三影堂大奖也吸引了众多海外留学艺术家的关注,最终使得本届选手的参赛作品呈现出更多本士性和国际性的融合。继往开来,根植于本土,不断创新对于“摄影”这-媒介和艺术形式的可能和未来,是三影堂摄影奖不变的关注和笃定的信念。

“离相”,念起来也像“理想”。而一份理想的实现,终究离不开同路人的相互支持。在此,谨代表三影堂,感谢每一位参与摄影奖的艺术家,你们理想的实现,将是摄影奖坚持的动力所在。特别感谢韩国著名摄影师和策展人具本昌先生、法国国立影像美术馆馆长玛尔塔.吉利女士、日本amana集团摄影收藏部总监河内尚先生、中央美术学院美术馆策展人蔡萌先生出任本届大赛的国际评审委员会。感谢你们的参与和支持,使得三影堂摄影奖的评选能够保持-贯的国际视野和学术水准。

今年是三影堂摄影艺术中心创建以来的第八个年头,也是设立摄影奖的第七年,感谢在这些年来陪伴着三影堂和摄影奖成长的世界各地的专家评委、参赛的艺术家,以及为大赛提供支持帮助的机构、媒体和各界朋友,特别感谢日本资生堂公司从首届大赛以来的持续支持,以及amanasalto公司对于本届摄影奖的热情帮助。也谢谢三影堂团队的每一位成员, 是你们的努力和敬业,使得本届三影堂摄影奖和展览能够顺利进行!

Detachment:The 2015 Three Shadows Photography Award Exhibition

¥78

Message from the Three Shadows

Founders

RongRong&inri

Founders,Directors

 

The Chinese word "xiang" is an interesting one. On the one hand, "xiang" (appearance) was originally a Buddhist technical term, signifying that which is beyond representation, with the various characteristics 0portrayal via observation from the heart; second, in the modern scientific context of physics, "xiang"(or phase)refers to that which has complete uniformity between physical nature and chemical property within a given system. In this light, "xiang" embodies both abstract thought and concrete significance. Due to photography's process of transforming the immaterial to the material, we call photographs "xiang pian". Traditionally speaking,the creation of a photograph not only involves light and shadow, but also the chemical transformation of silver salt.- however most important is that the image is born of the heart, an embodiment of the photographer's spirit and ideas.

The Diamond Sutra states, "By detachment from appearances, abide in Real Truth." The appearance of things is unreliable; we must recognize the truth and illusion present in all material things before we have the possibility to breakthrough and obtain greater wisdom. The name of this year's Three Shadows Photography Award is "Detachment", with the hope that a new generation of artists can do away with the fixed form of material substance and no longer be fettered by preconceived notions of conceptual consciousness. Rather, they will use unrestrained artistic spirit to create artwork that is ripe with both clear vision of themselves and the times we live in.

Compared to previous editions, the finalists for this year's Three Shadows Photography Award have already changed from those born in the 70s and 80s, to those born after the 80s and 90s. The youngest finalist this year was born in 1998. This change we see in age is also present in this generation's conceptual system of representation, use of the language of photography, and the overall shift in their chosen subject matter and themes. Moreover, this edition of the Three Shadows Photography Award attracted the attention of numerous students currently or recently returned from studying abroad, ultimately meaning that the submissions this year displayed a greater blending of Chinese and international characteristics. Forging onward with roots firmly planted in our native soil, the Three Shadows Photography Award is unwaveringly dedicated to continuously blazing new trails for the possibility and future of photography as an artistic medium.

"Detachment" (li-xiang) when said quickly in Chinese also sounds like "ideal" (li· xiang). The realization of any ideal is always reliant upon the reciprocal support of one's fellow travelers. As such, on behalf of Three Shadows Photography Art Centre, I wish to sincerely thank each and every artist who submitted his or her work to the competition this year. The realization of your ideals is precisely what powers the Three Shadows Photography Award to persist. We are especially thankful for famed photographer and curator, Mr. BohnchangKoo, Director of the Jeu de Paume, Ms. Marta Gil, Director of the Amana Group Photography Collection, Mr.Taka Kawachi, and Curator of the Central Academy of Fine Arts Museum, Mr. Tsai Meng, for serving on our international panel of judges for this edition. We thank you for your participation and support, and ensuring that the Three Shadows Photography Award selection process maintains a consistently international perspective and academic standard.

This year marks the 8th year since the founding of Three Shadows Photography Art Centre, as well as the 7thyear of the Three Shadows Photography Award. Deepest thanks to those expert judges, participating artists,collaborating organizations, and media partners who have accompanied us as we've grown through the years.Special thanks to the Shiseido Corporation for their continued support from day one, and to the amanasalto inc. for their enthusiastic support of this year's award. I'd also like to express my thanks to every member of the Three Shadows team, for it is their efforts that have made this year's Three Shadows Photography Award and exhibition so smooth and successful!