黄锐+荣荣:以摄影相伴(1994-2001)

2017年10月28日 - 2018年03月13日

三影堂摄影艺术中⼼将于2017年10⽉28⽇至2018年2⽉27日呈现"黄锐+荣荣: 以摄影相伴(1994-2001)"双人展,特邀法国著名策展⼈、前法国阿尔勒国际摄影节总监弗朗索瓦·赫伯尔策划,展览以两位处于不同领域却颇有渊源的艺术家的友谊和1994年-2001年间的艺术交流为线索,展出各⾃独⽴及共同创作的作品。届时将带给观众⻩锐的"徘徊"、"⼴场"和"银沙滩"系列,和荣荣的"废墟"、"碎片"和"婚纱"系列等⼗余组摄影及摄影装置作品。其中⼤部分作品是第⼀次与观众⻅⾯。

 


 

以摄影相伴

一位以符号、动作、行为、意象⽽⾮直观的⼿法来创作的艺术家如何从事摄影?

 

在数码时代来临前,距离虽然阻隔了⼈们相见,但没有阻隔人们相知。黄锐需要荣的眼睛,他的这位摄影师兄弟懂他亲密的情感、他的不⾜之处,以及他在彼岸的期待。

 

银盐相⽚曾让⻩锐与荣荣结下⼀个惯例。在那个并不久远的时代,人们仍需耐心等待照片的冲印以及邮递。他们俩互相为对⽅创作照片的时候,一方能知道自己要的照片,但不知道⾃己会收到的形式。

 

黄锐,这位造型艺术家,把荣荣的照片以及他后来自己创作的照片当作一种非具象的原材料。照片所积累的、所转化的、所唤起的比它所展现的要多。

 

摄影所表现的主体必然被其撕裂、拔起、抹去。

 

中国在2000年前后经历了巨大的变化。我们不难理解远离中国会产生的失落感。中国的艺术家们当时已有所觉悟。所有的材料都被他们拿来尝试。当代艺术和摄影都曾各自大放异彩。当时的创作即使无从参考,却高度自由、硕果累。

 

在这些自由创作的照片里,自然、权力符号、爱、拆迁、寺庙,以及照片的碎片里墙上和楼梯上隐约可见的女子,它们有着什么样的共同点?它们是否都象征着一个正在经历巨烈变迁,追求绝对纯粹的世界?

 

而此时,荣荣从委托创作的摄影中发展出一种新的种类,自成⼀派:它的摄影作品没有那么剧烈、也没有那么明亮或阴沉,好似在一⽚混沌中营造出的一个乌托邦。

 

这个展览可以从两位艺术家摄影中的互补性这一角度来理解。两者风格各异:黄锐的摄影低调、率直、坚定、持重,而荣荣的摄影则感伤、坦荡、敞开身心。

 

因为,照片,如果对黄锐来是⼀种材料和符号,那么对荣荣来说就是光线和叙事;如果对黄锐来说是⼀一种严峻的记录,那么对荣荣来说是一个乌托邦。就像一对双胞胎兄弟,他们不同的个性使我们得以分辨他们,并给同一个世界以两种不不同的诠释。

 

2017年9⽉

弗朗索瓦·赫伯尔


 

艺术家及策展人介绍 

黄锐,1952年生于北京,当代艺术家,制作平面绘画、立体、装置、行为艺术作品,星星美展发起人、798艺术区发起人之一,当代艺术活动家。

 

荣荣,1968年出生于福建,中国当代摄影艺术家,三影堂摄影艺术中心联合创始人,2008年创立了一年一度的"三影堂摄影奖(TSPA)"。他以人与生存环境、人与自然关系为艺术表达核心创作了包括《东村》等系列作品。荣荣策划了多次东西方国际摄影大师的大型展览,于2010年联合发起了"草场地摄影季--阿尔勒在北京",并于2015年联合创办了"集美·阿尔勒国际摄影节"。

 

弗朗索瓦·赫伯尔,2017届"摄影月"(Le Mois de la Photo du Grand Paris)艺术总监,自2015年起担任French Institute Alliance Française(FIAF)摄影策展人。2001年至2014年,他曾担任法国阿尔勒国际摄影节总监,为该活动引入了新的形式,聚集起众多的特约策展人。2000年至2001年,他曾担任卡彼斯图片社副社长,负责欧洲事务。2010年至2012年间与三影堂摄影艺术中心共同发起"草场地摄影季-阿尔勒在北京"并担任联合总监。1987年至2000年,他担任摄影联合体马格南图片社总监,改进了该联合体的财务和经营流程,并使之现代化。他还策划过多次展览,与阿格尼丝·希尔合作出版了几部著作,如 A l'Est de Magnum, Magnum Cinéma 等。1986年至1987年,他担任阿尔勒国际摄影节总监。在他的领导下,摄影节开始向彩色摄影以及大尺寸摄影开放,包括若干世界上最出色的展览,如马丁·帕尔和安妮·莱伯维茨。1979年至1985年,他在FNAC担任多种职务,最终成为FNAC摄影画廊总监。

Huang Rui and Rong Rong:Photo Symbiosis (1994-2001)

28 October 2017 - 27 February 2018

Three Shadows Photography Art Centre is honored to present the exhibition "Huang Rui and RongRong: Photo Symbiosis (1994-2001)" by artists Huang Rui and RongRong from 28 October 2017 to 27 February 2018. French curator François Hébel, former director of Les Rencontres d'Arles, curates the show. The exhibition clues the friendship between the two artists, who have been cultivating in different areas but are intertwined, and their artistic exchange from 1994 to 2001. The exhibition features over 10 different series such as "Wander", "Square", "Silver Beach" by Huang Rui and "Ruins", "Frafments", "Wedding Gown" by RongRong. Most of these photo series or photo-installations are presented for the first time to the public.

 


 

 

Photo Symbiosis

How to approach photography when you  are  a  symbolic artist,  who  deals  in  creative  gestures and performance signs rather than  demonstration?

 

Before the digital era, distance had the consequence of not just not knowing more but also not seeing more. Huang Rui needed the eyes  of  RongRong,  his  brother  in  images,  to understand what was lacking, and what the other was waiting for beyond  the  seas,  in  the  intimacy  of emotions.

 

Huang Rui and  RongRong established a  ritual that film photography made possible. In  that  time, not long ago, you had to wait it out for the mystery of development, printing and delivery. One produced photos for the other, who knew what he  had  asked for  but  did  not  know the  form  of what he was going to   receive.

 

Plasticist, it is as a non-figurative raw material that Huang Rui considers photographs, those of RongRong or later those of his own.  Their  accumulation,  transformation,  installation, suggest more than they  show.

 

The subjects represented are, in  the wrenching and tearing-up, a  blow to    modesty.

 

If there was ever a country that really signified change to the planet in the year 2000, it was China. One understands the frustration one could have by being far away from this.

 

The artists were awake. Everything was used as material. Contemporary art and photography was going through an incredible effervescence. Short of reference points, the sense of creative freedom was strong and  fruitful.

 

A long- distant harvest, the sharing of pictures of nature, symbols of power, love, destruction, temples, a furtive figure of a woman on the walls suggested in the fragments of images, another encountered in the stairwell? Are these signs of a world in radical transition, confronted by the search for absolute  purity?

 

It is then that a new branch emerges,  autonomous,  in  command,  RongRong's  own  work, less brutal or luminous and less sombre, seems to propose a utopia in the midst of chaos.

 

It is in this claimed complementarity that one should understand this exhibition. Distinguishing the output for Huang Rui, being secretive, straight, voluntary, above all modest, of RongRong in all his languor, without protection, willingly giving up  is  body and   soul.

 

Because if for Rui the photo is matter and symbol, for Rong it is light and narrative. If for Rong it is utopia, for Rui it is sombre realisation.  As  twins  they  have  their  own  personalities  which makes it possible to distinguish between them and to offer two readings of the same world.

 

François Hébel

September 2017 

 


 

Introduction of Artists and Curator

 

Huang Rui

Huang Rui is a contemporary artist who creates paintings, three-dimensional works, installations, and performance pieces. He was one of the founders of the Stars Group and the 798 Art District. He was born in Beijing, China. He currently lives and works in Beijing.

 

RongRong

RongRong was born in Fujian, China, in 1968. He is a contemporary photographer. In the past he produced many well-known photographs, including the "East Village" series. Since 2000, RongRong works together with Japanese photographer, inri, with whom he co-founded Three Shadows Photography Art Centre in 2007. RongRong plays an active role in programming and curating cross-discipline exhibitions across eastern and western countries. He initiated and curated the three editions of the "PhotoSpring-Arles in Beijing" and the "Three Shadows Photography Awards", a celebrated prize that just reached its nine-year edition. RongRong is also the co-founder of JIMEI Arles Festival, an international photographic event resulting from the collaboration between the Three Shadows Photography Art Centre and Les Rencontres d'Arles.

 

François Hébel

François Hébel is the art director of the 2017 edition of "Le Mois de la Photo du Grand Paris". Since 2015, he has been the Curator of Photography at the French Institute Alliance Française (FIAF). From 2001 to 2014, he was the Director of Les Rencontres d'Arles. He introduced a new format for the event and brought in a wide range of guest curators. From 2000 to 2001, he served as the Vice President in change of European Affairs at the Corbis Press Agency. From 2010 to 2012, together with Three Shadows Photography Art Centre and Thinking-Hands, he launched and co-directed the  event "PhotoSpring-Arles in Beijing". From 1987 to 2000, he was the Director of Magnum Photos and Magnum International, where he improved and modernized the financial and operational procedures of the cooperative. He also curated a number of exhibitions and published several books with Agnès Sire, including A l'Est de Magnum and Magnum Cinéma. From 1986 to 1987, he was the Director of Les Rencontres d'Arles. Under his leadership, the festival was opened to colour and large-scale photography and held several world premiere exhibitions by photographers such as Martin Parr and Annie Leibovitz. From 1979 to 1985, he held a variety of positions at FNAC, culminating in the position of Director of the FNAC photography galleries.