不可见者: 杨星堃个展

 
策展人:肖瑞昀
 
展期:展览开放时间将视疫情状况决定,敬请期待
主办:三影堂厦门摄影艺术中心
展览地点:三影堂厦门摄影艺术中心(厦门市集美区杏林湾营运中心,2号楼大平台301)
 

 
展览前言
 

这个项目是关于无家可归者在伦敦的故事。这个国家有30多万流浪者,其中一半在伦敦。我花了3个多月的时间记录了30多名流浪汉的生活。我和他们坐在一起,了解他们,聆听他们的生活。我们一起吃饭,一起分享好心人赠予的咖啡,偶尔一起睡在街上。这是一个关于流浪者的项目,但它更多是关于伦敦这个城市,以及被其社会所吞噬抛弃的局外人。 流浪者在伦敦司空见惯。但这绝不应该成为选择性忽视这个问题的借口。当下的情况尤其如此。这个城市充满了危险与不可预知性。脱欧损害了这个城市年轻人的利益,公共资金的削减也使边缘化人群的生活更加艰难。在这个项目里,我期望倾听他们自己的故事,渴望了解他们的处境。我希望这个项目能多少增进人们对于边缘化人群的理解,但我个人不认为影像本身具有改善现状的能力。 当我的项目进行到一半时,我意识到我将永远无法得出任何指向性结论。如果你好奇一个人无家可归的缘由,以及他将怎样做才能改善目前的处境,遗憾的是我不能提供满意的答案。因为他们像你,我一样是复杂的人:无家可归者都曾是社会的一部分。是女儿,是父亲;是邮递员,是工程师。他们的背景曾与我们的生活有着无数共同之处。 从另一个角度观察,这些人或许也是成功逃离现代社会牢笼的人。他们是这个城市的难民,也是真正理解何为自由的人,像极了乔治·奥威尔笔下所描述的底层灵魂。尽管为了获得这样的自由,代价有时会是深渊。


 

关于艺术家

杨星堃,生于1994年,北京人。2018年毕业于伦敦艺术大学新闻与纪实摄影专业,获学士学位。现于伦敦大学金史密斯学院攻读影视人类学研究生。

2017年曾与伦敦小交响乐团合作办展。作品发表于BBC,英国卫报(The Guardian)。2018年作品入选Dorothea Lange-Paul Taylor Prize,ND Awards 铜奖,Chromatic彩色摄影大奖提名,英国卫报BAME Photographer 2018。

对我来说,摄影不仅仅是摄影本身,也是我探索关于影像在我们社会中处于何种角色的好奇心的方式。我想以一个摄影师,作为受过专业训练的观察者,和人类学家的社会身份进行这种探索。用我的相机作为自己的视觉延伸来观察这个世界。

The Invisible: Yang Xingkun Solo Exhibition

Curator:Xiao Ruiyun

Duration:  The exibihtion time will be determined according to the epidemic situation, please looking forward it.

Organiser: Three Shadows Xiamen Photography Art Centre

Venue: No. 301, Building 2, Xinglinwan Business Center, Jimei District, Xiamen

 


 


EXHIBITION PREFACE

 

This project, named The Invisible, is about London homeless people. There are more than 300,000 homeless people in this country and half of them live in London. I spent more than 3 months and met with more than 30 homeless people for this project. I sat on the street with each of them for hours and hours to interview them and document their life. I ate with them and sometimes slept outside with them. This is certainly a project about homelessness, but it became more about the city of London and its abandoned people. Homeless is commonplace in London, however, this should not be an excuse for choosing to ignore the issue. This is especially the case currently, with the city being full of unpredictability. Brexit is detrimental to the young people who live in this city and the cutting of public funds also makes the lives of these marginalised people harder. For this project, the aim is to hear their voice, to document their lives and let them speak about their story. I wish that this project could change their current life situation, however, I personally doubt that photography could change their lives. In addition, as I got deeper into the project, I realised that I would not be able to conclude the reasons behind a person being homeless or how these people could better their current situation. They are complicated human beings just like you and me. I discovered that the lives of the homeless have so much in common with our lives. Looked at in another light, these people are also the ones who have successfully escaped from the cage of modern society. They are the refugees of this city, as well as the ones who truly have their freedom, even though the cost of this freedom is sometimes enormous. 


 

ABOUT THE ARTIST

 

Yang Xingkun

I am a student currently pursuing my master’s degree in visual anthropology at Goldsmiths University. Graduated from BA(Hons) in Photojournalism & Documentary Photography at the London College of Communication (UAL).

Having majored in photography for both my foundation and Bachler degrees (2014-2018) and also worked as a freelance photographer, holding a photography exhibition together with the London Sinfonietta.

For me, doing photography is not only about photography itself, but also my curiosity about what role photography plays as a medium in our society. I wish to discover the photographer’s social identity as a professionally trained observer and an anthropologist. I started doing photography since the second year of high school and after that keep learning photography as my major, observing this world using both my cameras and my own eyes.