The 11th Three Shadows Photography Award Open Call for 2019 Competition

As part of its dedication to the support of emerging Chinese photographers, Three Shadows established its annual Three Shadows Photography Award program (TSPA) in 2009. Every year, the Three Shadows staff and a rotating panel of international judges review hundreds of portfolios from photographers of Chinese descent, identify around 20 to 30 finalists, and select one winner. The TSPA aims to support the healthy development of Chinese photography, applying an open, in-depth academic mindset in order to understand and judge a wide range of contemporary work. 


The TSPA has now been around a decade. In June of this year, the exhibition "Ten Directions: Three Shadows Photography Award 10th Anniversary" marked the occasion. The  growth of past participants has allowed us to see the meaning and significance of persistence in art. We have seen the form and territory of photography evolve alongside the development of the social environment and technology, and the TSPA will also becomemore open to new ideas to reflect these changes.  We look forwardto the next decade.





Entries must be submitted by January 30, 2019


Primary Selection Panel:  February 2019


The members of the jury and the Three Shadows curatorial team will thoroughly study and identify a small selection of exceptionally strong workThis will produce about 20 candidates whose works will be exhibited in the 11thThree Shadows Photography Award Exhibitionin April 2019.



Exhibition Opening & Winners Announcement:  April 2019


On the occasion of the opening of the 11th Three Shadows Photography Award, our international jury will select the winner of the annual Three Shadows Photography Award, who will receive a prize of RMB 80,000.


Registration conditions: No age limitation. Only for Chinese photographers and artists.


Participation Methods:


Candidates are requested to do the following by January 30, 2019:


- Please fill in the detailed Application Form (including the attached resume / personal introduction, work information and work description, etc.)


- Submit 20 image or video files (maximum). Images should be JPEG files. Each file should be no larger than 5MB. Videos should be MP4 files and each file should be no larger than 200MB. 


Please save these documents onto a USB or a CD and mail it to:


The TPSA Committee  

Three Shadows Photography Art Centre 

155A Cao Changdi, Chaoyang District, Beijing

Post code: 100015


Questions: Leo DU

Tel: 010-64322663-8018

Working time: Tuesday to Sunday 10:00-17:00




TSPA Judges from Previous Editions


RongRong - Photographer, Co-Founder and Director of Three Shadows

Kotara Iizawa - Photography Critic and Curator, Japan

Karen Smith - Art Critic and Curator, Beijing

Bas Vroege - Director and Curator, Paradox Foundation, Netherlands

Christopher Phillips- Curator, International Center for Photography, USA

Eva Respini — Photography curator, Museum of Modern Art

François Hébel — Director, Les Rencontres d’Arles Photography Festival 

Sarah Meister - Curator, Museum of Modern Art

Gu Zheng - Photography Critic and Professor, Fudan University, Shanghai

Eikoh Hosoe - Director, Kiyosato Museum of Photographic Arts

Hilla Becher- German Photographer & Educator

Kotaro Iizawa — Art critic

Michiko Kasahara- Chief Curator, Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography; Lecturer, Meiji Gakuin University

Wang Huangsheng - Director, CAFA Art Museum, Beijing

Paul Martineau - Associate Curator, Department of Photography, The J. Paul Getty Museum, USA

Gu Zheng - Independent photography critic

Christopher Phillips- Curator, International Center of Photography, New York

Juan I-Jong - Taiwanese Photographer

Brett Rogers - Director, The Photographers' Gallery, London, UK

Arthur Ollman,Professor of Art, San Diego State University, Chairman of the Board of Directors, 

Foundation for the Exhibition of Photography, Photographer (United States)

Candida Höfer, Artist (Germany)

Liu Zheng, Artist (China)

Tokihiro Sato, Photographer and Professor at Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music (Japan)

Marta Gili- Director of the Jeu de Paume, Paris, France

Taka Kawach - Chief Director of Amana Photo Collection, Japan

Bohnchang Koo- Photographer and Curator, South Korea

Tsai Meng, PhD - Curator of the Central Academy of Fine Art Museum, China

Quentin Bajac- Chief Curator of Photography Department, the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)

Wu Hung- Harrie A. Vanderstappen Distinguished Service Professor and Director of Center for the Art of East Asia, the University of Chicago

Satoshi Machiguchi - Director and Designer of MATCH and Company

Philip Tinari - Director of the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art (UCCA)

Simon Baker- Senior Curator of Photography and International Art, Tate Modern

Feng Boyi - Independent Curator, Art Critic, and Director at He Xiangning Art Museum

Mika Ninagawa - Photographer and Film Director

Thomas Ruff - Photographer

November 1, 2018