Open Call for the 2020 Three Shadows Photography Award

As part of its dedication to the support of emerging Chinese photographers, Three Shadows established its annual Three Shadows Photography Award program (TSPA) in 2009. Every year, the Three Shadows staff and a rotating panel of international judges review hundreds of portfolios from photographers of Chinese descent, identify around 20 to 30 finalists, and select one winner. The TSPA aims to support the healthy development of Chinese photography, applying an open, in-depth academic mindset in order to understand and judge a wide range of contemporary work. 




Entries must be submitted by December 31, 2019


Primary Selection Panel: Janurary 2020


The members of the jury and the Three Shadows curatorial team will thoroughly study and identify a small selection of exceptionally strong workThis will produce about 20 candidates whose works will be exhibited in the 12th Three Shadows Photography Award Exhibitionin April 2020.



Exhibition Opening & Winners Announcement:  April 2020


On the occasion of the opening of the 11th Three Shadows Photography Award, our international jury will select the winner of the annual Three Shadows Photography Award, who will receive a prize of RMB 80,000.


Registration conditions: No age limitation. Only for Chinese photographers and artists.


Participation Methods:


Candidates are requested to do the following by December 31, 2019:


- Please fill in the detailed Application Form (including the attached resume / personal introduction, work information and work description, etc.)


- Submit 20 image or video files (maximum). Images should be JPEG files. Each file should be no larger than 5MB. Videos should be MP4 files and each file should be no larger than 200MB. 


Please save these documents onto a USB and mail it to:


The TPSA Committee  

Three Shadows Photography Art Centre 

155A Cao Changdi, Chaoyang District, Beijing

Post code: 100015


Questions: Xinyi MA

Tel: 010-64322663-8018

Working time: Tuesday to Sunday 10:00-17:00




TSPA Judges from Previous Editions


RongRong - Photographer, Co-Founder and Director of Three Shadows

Kotara Iizawa - Photography Critic and Curator, Japan

Karen Smith - Art Critic and Curator, Beijing

Bas Vroege - Director and Curator, Paradox Foundation, Netherlands

Christopher Phillips- Curator, International Center for Photography, USA

Eva Respini — Photography curator, Museum of Modern Art

François Hébel — Director, Les Rencontres d’Arles Photography Festival 

Sarah Meister - Curator, Museum of Modern Art

Gu Zheng - Photography Critic and Professor, Fudan University, Shanghai

Eikoh Hosoe - Director, Kiyosato Museum of Photographic Arts

Hilla Becher- German Photographer & Educator

Kotaro Iizawa — Art critic

Michiko Kasahara- Chief Curator, Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography; Lecturer, Meiji Gakuin University

Wang Huangsheng - Director, CAFA Art Museum, Beijing

Paul Martineau - Associate Curator, Department of Photography, The J. Paul Getty Museum, USA

Gu Zheng - Independent photography critic

Christopher Phillips- Curator, International Center of Photography, New York

Juan I-Jong - Taiwanese Photographer

Brett Rogers - Director, The Photographers' Gallery, London, UK

Arthur Ollman,Professor of Art, San Diego State University, Chairman of the Board of Directors, 

Foundation for the Exhibition of Photography, Photographer (United States)

Candida Höfer, Artist (Germany)

Liu Zheng, Artist (China)

Tokihiro Sato, Photographer and Professor at Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music (Japan)

Marta Gili- Director of the Jeu de Paume, Paris, France

Taka Kawach - Chief Director of Amana Photo Collection, Japan

Bohnchang Koo- Photographer and Curator, South Korea

Tsai Meng, PhD - Curator of the Central Academy of Fine Art Museum, China

Quentin Bajac- Chief Curator of Photography Department, the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)

Wu Hung- Harrie A. Vanderstappen Distinguished Service Professor and Director of Center for the Art of East Asia, the University of Chicago

Satoshi Machiguchi - Director and Designer of MATCH and Company

Philip Tinari - Director of the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art (UCCA)

Simon Baker- Senior Curator of Photography and International Art, Tate Modern

Feng Boyi - Independent Curator, Art Critic, and Director at He Xiangning Art Museum

Mika Ninagawa - Photographer and Film Director

Thomas Ruff - Photographer

September 28, 2019