雾、火、雄: 三影堂摄影艺术中心夏季居住艺术家作品放映会

2011年08月5日 - 08月5日

三影堂摄影艺术中心2011年夏季居住艺术家将在三影堂庭院以幻灯片形式展示他们以往和目前创作的摄影作品。

 

戴安娜·科卡提出了关于身体、道德及禁忌的问题;我们与之的关系以及围绕其所形成的习俗,它们是否已成为一种习惯,抑或被迫强加于我们:我是谁?我想要成为什么样的人?暂时通过支离破碎的忧郁表象来掩饰我不愿被人发现的秘密。这些图像是对所谓女性化的虚假文化架构的重新解构。对科卡而言,男性和女性之间的差异并非存在于出生时,而是取决于怎么做。

 

斯沃特拉娜·贝利的照片拍摄的是各种毫无关联地方的雾。在雾中,物体变得模糊不清,地平线也被隐于其中,其创作灵感来源于雾气所带来的那种无边无际、琢磨不透的感觉。雾的行为好似进入某个瞬息万变的自然环境的入口。当事物原有的样子消失不见,我们试图相信眼前的一切时,却被提醒此刻围绕着我们的未必是永恒的存在。

 

马国锐和林将展示他们在过去十年的实践中所拍摄的作品,他们拍摄平凡男性的非凡之处,将他们犹如神明般展现,按照他们的意愿,展示他们的身体,并且完完全全的融入到他们的生活,甚至进入他们的卧室和浴室。这项工作已经开展到中国、菲律宾和澳大利亚。

 

现在,什么样算是男人?—— 一个男人的定义又是什么?他是否粗枝大叶、是否强健、是否有文化或者干净?”——·杰克逊(1981

 

三影堂摄影艺术中心艺术家居住项目旨在为到访摄影师、艺术家、学者和策展人提供在中国生活和工作的机会。

Fog, Fire, Virility: A Presentation of Works by the Three Shadows Summer Artists-in-Residence

5 August 2011

Three Shadows Photography Art Centre’s three artists-in-residence from the summer of 2011 will present slideshows of their previous and current work in the Three Shadows courtyard.

 

Svetlana Bailey photographs in fog in a variety of unrelated locations. In fog, objects become obscured and the horizon is hidden, which engages ideas of boundlessness and the uncertainty of perception.  Fog acts like a portal to the transitory nature of one’s surroundings. Objects lose their finiteness of appearance, and we are reminded that the reality that surrounds us may not be as permanent or solid as we try to believe.

 

Diana Coca raises questions about bodily identity, morality and taboo; our relation to and conventions built around them, whether they are acquired or violently imposed: 'Who am I?  Who would I like to be? For a while I'm the melancholy of a fragmented figure, though in that interval mysteries are revealed.'  The images are a deconstruction of the false cultural construction we call femininity.  For Coca, the differences between men and women don't exist at birth, but instead are made.

 
Maguire/Lum will be showcasing work from the last decade of practice. They photograph the extraordinary within ordinary men, showing them as Gods, follow their aspirations, reveal their bodies, all the way into their bedrooms and bathrooms.  The work has been made in China, Philippines and Australia.  "What’s a man now - what’s a
man mean? is he rough or is he rugged ? Is he cultural and clean?" --Joe Jackson, 1981

 

 

The Three Shadows Photography Art Centre artist-in-residence program provides visiting photographers, artists, academics and curators with the opportunity to live and work in China.