一个走过田野的人: 三影堂驻地艺术家Juan Carlos Coppel 创作分享

2019年07月7日 -

上周末7月7日下午,三影堂北京驻地艺术家Juan Carlos Coppel 以“ 一个走过田野的人 ”为主题,与 大家分享了他的作品的创作故事和理念。Juan出生于1986年,是一位在墨西哥北部城市埃莫西约工作 和生活的艺术家。他自己是一位农场主,所以他的创作基本都围绕农业生产以及人类活动对自然和土地 的改造等话题来展开。除了摄影之外,他的创作形式还包括视频、雕塑、装置等等,这次分享会我 们就选取他近几年创作中比较有代表性的几个系列分享给大家。

 

“七座山丘”这个系列是他在2014年的第一个摄影项目,不同于过去作为种植者的经历,这是他第一次通过摄影和这片地产生联系,并且也是他第一次将摄影作为一种表达情感的工具,他在索诺拉 (Sonora)也就是他生活的地方,农田是一眼望不到边际的,人们在各个放向各个距离都能够看到这座七座山丘,这些山丘对本地人来说是一种地标性的参照。这个拍摄项目的目标是反映人类与自然、人类与土壤之间的关系,除工具、拖拉机、供应品,是关于自然不受人类控制的崇高的 一面。他想要批判机械化生产对自然环境的侵占,同时引导观者看向自然不可控的方面。这张图中人们在架葡萄架,近处和远处的结构突出空间、土地和自然力量的之间的关系,我们需要时时刻刻都记住的是,人类在自然前的渺小。

 

“裂缝”这个系列以一种象征性的方式来呈现,自然力量迫使景观不断地发生改变。某一天Juan在农场工作的时候,一道长约两公里宽度和深度都在10米左右的巨大的裂缝突然裂开了,关于裂缝产 生的原因,有些人认为这是不规范使用农业用井的结果,还有人认为这是地理缺陷和地下河流的共同作用导致的,这让Juan开始思考: 人类在这个我们赖以生存的星球上的所作所为真的是正确的么?对于他来说这个裂缝出现的时候也刚好正值墨西哥社会一个非常重要要的时期,它仿佛向我们暗示 当时墨西哥社会正出现的种族和经济差异带来的阶级分化的问题,也是墨西哥社会转型的一个象征。

 

“巴别 5263”是一件由5263米长的塑料薄膜制成的装置作品,这些塑料薄膜原本用来为一公顷的作物保温。就像巴别塔的传说中叙述的,这个装置也指向了人们自命不凡、想要达到天空顶部的妄想。在墨西哥的索诺拉洲,和世界其他地方一样,历史在不停地重复。为了寻求更高的利益,农民开始不控制生产,最终导致供求关系失衡。结果不仅是食物残余过剩,还有农业公司的消失。“巴别 5263”因此暗指人类的勃勃野心以及他们对土地的劫掠和过度生产导致的作物饱和与浪费。

  

作为一个农场主,Juan也一直在收集他每天在农田中巡查时找到的东西: 古老的神秘蜂巢、动物 尸体、土壤、种子、岩石、有机物(昆虫等等)、农具、塑料废品等等。所有这东西能代表农业 生产周期中各个重要的阶段。Juan通过对这些物品进行类似考古般的布置,他确定了景观“landscape”在他心目中的定义。他想将这组作品和十七世纪的自然探险家的陈列柜联系起来,它们是对所见之物和日常工作的记录,表现了变革中的土地和对时间的感知。这个系列将他的创作带入到一个开始批判地看待农业工业化过程的阶段,同时通过展示拍摄对象的纹理和组织,某种程度上也突出 我们对自然环境的感知。

 

在墨西哥,农民经常通过燃烧轮胎来提高农田里的温度,以防冬天作物被冻坏,但是这样的燃烧会给周遭环境带来不良影响。农业生产是索诺拉州的主要经济活动之一,但即便这样的措施为正常的农业生产提供了保证,它还是为农田带来了道德和环境污染的问题。该系列的照片是在索诺拉州北部的农田中拍摄的,这些影像和19世纪欧洲的风景画形成了一种讽刺性的对比,让观者陷入对我们这个时代问题的沉思和忧虑。

 


 

 

关于艺术家

 

胡安·卡洛斯(Juan Carlos)是一位生活在墨西哥北部城市埃莫西约(Hermosillo)的当代艺术家。农场主的工作身份迫使他必须不断沉浸在农业的生产环境中,这种得天独厚的优势也为他的拍摄提供了独特的视角——得以近距离且充满情感地记录下人是如何开发并剥削土地的。通过照片、雕塑和装置,胡安想要强调农民的重要性——从他们的农作过程、使用的生产工具和生产对象等方面出发,他也希望我们关注当土地被转化为农田后会产生的问题。虽然他的摄影和装置作品可以和传统风景地理摄影联系在一起,或在形式上与17世纪自然主义探险者拍摄的照片类似,但他的镜头真实地记录和见证着土地一天天所经历的转变。他不仅想要发掘大地图景中的崇高感,同时也想呼吁人们批判地看待工业化的农作过程,看到其在不知不觉中正影响和改变着我们的自然环境。

A Man Who Walks Across the Field: Artist Talk by Juan Carlos Coppel

July 7, 2019

 

Last Sunday afternoon, Three shadows artist in residence Juan Carlos Coppel shared his stories and concepts  behind some of  his photo series under the theme "A Man Who Walks across the Field". Born in 1986, Juan is an artist who works and lives in the northern Mexican city, Hermosillo. As a farmer himself, many of his works revolve around agriculture production and how human activity affects nature and land.  Apart from photography, his artistic practice of creation also include video, sculpture, installation and so on, in this talk we chose several his most representative series to share with the Chinese audiences.

 

Seven Hills  Series

 

"Seven Hills"Series was his first project in 2014 he ever created. Unlike his experience as a grower, this is the first time he established the connection between him and the land through photography, and this is also the first time he uses photography as a means to express what he feels. In Sonora where he is from, farmland ends where the eye can no longer see, as a background we can see the seven hills, an icon reference in his region. The objective of this project is to reflect about the relationship between humans and nature, humans and the soil, beyond the tools, tractors, supplies, it's about the superior sense of nature that cannot be controlled by humans. We need to remember all the time that human beings are small before nature.

 

 

The Crack Series

 

The crack starts in a symbolic way, Landscape transforms from the power of nature, by natures decision. One day Juan was working in the farm a sudden a huge crack opened ( 2 kilometers long, 10 meters deep and 10 meters wide ), some believe this is the result of irregular use of agricultural wells, while others believe that it is the result of a combined geographical defect and underground rivers. This led Juan to think: Are we humans that depend from this planet doing it right? This fissure happened on a very important time for Mexico society, it gives us the hint of an actual division of racial and economic division we are living in Mexico, this fissure is also a symbol of a pulsing Mexico in eternal transformation.

 

 

Agrobinete Sculptures

 

As a farmer Juan has been collecting objects he found on his daily walks: old mysterious beehives, dead animals, soil, seeds, rocks, organic matter, tools, plastic, among others. All these objects represent very important stages of the agricultural cycle. He reconfigures these collected *waste* ( for others )  in sculptures and almost archeological installations where the landscape is domesticated, for the first time in his work he decides what is landscape in his configuration. He refers this work to the cabinets of naturalist explorers of the seventeen century, records of observations and daily work on the transformation land and presence of time. This series was a critical stage on industrial agronomist process, and at the same time, it reveals textures, reticles, and tissues that highlight our perception of the natural environment.

 

 

Quema Series

 

Burning tires in Mexico is a practice carried by farmers to raise the temperature of the environment and avoid corps and farmland frost in the winter, in this way preserving peoples job, this is one of the main economic activities of the state. But even if such measures provide a guarantee for normal agricultural production, it also brings moral and environmental pollution problems to farmland. The series of photos was taken from farmland in northern Sonora state, these images form an ironic contrast to the 19th-century European landscape, drawing the viewer into contemplation and anxiety about the problems of our time.