MEDIA ONLINE SHOP Mail subscription
提交 Cancel
Exhibition introduction

Due to the support of partner institutions, the 2011 Three Shadows Photography Award has received a significant positive response from photographers.

In 2011, Three Shadows received over two hundred submissions for the competition. From this pool of applicants, the Three Shadows curatorial team selected twenty photographers to participate in Myriad Visions: The 2011 Three Shadows Photography Award Exhibition, opening on April 23, 2011. The twenty participants are Chen Zhe, Chu Chu, He Xiaohua, Lian Zhiping, Lin Zhipeng, Luo Dan, Qi Hong, Qiu Minye, Ren Hang, Shen Linghao, Ta Ke, Wang Xinwei, Wei Bi, Xu Lijing, Yan Zhou, Yang Nannan, Yang Ya, Zhang Hui, Zhou Wei, and Zi Bai. 

A panel of international photography experts was been assembled to select the recipient of the Three Shadows Photography Award from among the exhibited semi-finalists. The 2011 jury members were François Hébel (Director of Les Rencontres d'Arles, France), Sarah Meister (Curator, Photography Department, Museum of Modern Art, USA), Gu Zheng (Independent Photography Critic, China), Eikoh Hosoe (Renowned Photographer and Director of the Kiyosato Museum of Photographic Arts, Japan), and RongRong (Founder of Three Shadows Photography Art Centre, China).

The exhibition was made possible in part thanks to the support of the Shiseido Co.,Ltd. and The Japan Foundation, Beijing. The winner of the Three Shadows Photography Award received an 80,000 RMB cash prize. The Tierney Foundation also selected the winner of the Tierney Fellowship from among the participants. The Tierney Fellow received 5,000 USD. The winner of the Shiseido Prize for Best Female Photographer was presented with a cash prize of 20,000 RMB. The Three Shadows Press (Hong Kong) published and distributed a catalogue to accompany the exhibition.