MEDIA ONLINE SHOP Mail subscription
提交 Cancel
Exhibition introduction

Fourth 2012 Annual Three Shadows Photography Award

April 21 - June 15, 2012

Between June and December 2011, 358 candidates submitted a total of nearly ten thousand works for consideration in the fourth Three Shadows Photography Award (TSPA). The selection committee made their choices based on each candidate’s strength of conceptual expression, grasp of the medium’s particular language, self-expression, subject matter and choice in materials among a number of other criteria. Through this process the committee strived to uncover the most promising photographers, promote photography’s diversity, emphasize the discovery of a new generation of photographers and their values. With these goals in mind, the committee carried out repeated study and consideration of each submission and, through discussion and debate, chose 23 finalists from the pool of 358 candidates to participate in this year’s Three Shadows Photography Award exhibition and the chance to be selected for the 2012 Three Shadows Photography Award.


The twenty three participants were Fan Shisan, Fung, Tsz Chung, Gao Jun, Geng Yi, Hu Xiao, Huang Zhenwei, Jia Xincheng, Lei Benben, Luo Bin, Wang Lin, Wang Qing, Xie Jiankun, Yan Yibo, Yang Xueguang, Yang Yuanyuan, Yao Yiwen, Yi Hui, Zhang Jin, Zhang Kechun, Zhao Yiyi, Zhou Shuoying, Zhu Feng, and Zhu Mo.


A panel of international photography experts was assembled to select the recipients of the Three Shadows Photography Award from among the xhibtions semi-finalists.  The 2012 jury members were Michiko Kasahara: Chief Curator at Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography, Lecturer at Meiji Gakuin University, Christopher Phillips: Curator at International Center of Photography, New York, François Hébel: Director of Les Rencontres d'Arles International Photography Festival, RongRong: Chinese Photographer, Founder & Director, Three Shadows Photography Art Centre, Juan I-Jong: Taiwanese Photographer, Hilla Becher: Renowned German Photographer & Educator.


After careful deliberation by the international panel of judges, this year's Three Shadows Photography Award selection process came to a close. Zhang Jin won the Three Shadows Photography Award (80,000RMB cash prize), Wang Lin won the Shiseido Award for Best Female Photographer (20,000RMB cash prize), and Yang Yuanyuan won the Tierney Foundation's fellowship ($5,000USD towards the creation of a new series of work). The presentation of the award also signified the beginning of preparations for the 5th edition of the Three Shadows Photography Award in 2013.